World War One talk: The Ballad of Billy Unsworth

Date and time: 
Monday, 1 September 2014 - 2:00pm
Cost: 
Free!
No booking required
Suitable for: 
All

Billy UnsworthDiscover the fascinating story of Billy Unsworth - an Ordsall man who died at Gallipoli in 1915. He has also inspired a ballad penned by speaker, Graham Walker. 

William (Billy) Frankland Unsworth, born on Sunnyside Street, Ordsall, Salford in 1881. A family with 8 sons living in a two up two down. Billy's father died suddenly in November 1899 and his mother Elizabeth married Joe Davies a short time afterwards. Billy now had 10 brothers and step brothers, all who participated in World War One.

Billy joined the militia, the territorial Army of it's day, and travelled to South Africa and took part in the Boer War. On his return he married Bella and had a family of his won, containing it's own tragedy when his daughter, Lillian, died at the age of 18 months.

Billy worked at Glovers in Trafford Park as a Brass turner until the outbreak of World War One where he joined the 9th Bn the Lancashire Fusiliers and travelled to Gallipoli in 1915, never to return. Frankland Unsworth was killed on 21 August 1915.

World War One Centenary Salford Remembers

Please meet in the museum reception.

Want to know more about World War One?

Look out for our special World War One programme or visit our World War One website.

World War One programme

All talks, tours and events are held at Salford Museum and Art Gallery unless otherwise stated.

Title Type Date/Time
Salford Art Club: WW1 costume Event Sunday 28 September, 2.00pm
Our Boys Talk Wednesday 1 October, 6.00pm
Salford Art Club: WW1 costume Event Sunday 5 October 2014, 2.00pm
A World War One kitchen Workshop Sunday 19 October, 1.30pm
Creative Sundays Event 2, 9, 16, 23 and 30 November
Wilfred Owen Talk Monday 10 November, 2.00pm
Tour of World War One exhibition Tour Tuesday 11 November, 11.30am
Art and Symbolism in World War One Talk Wednesday 12 November, 6.00pm
World War One Poetry: Readings and panel discussion Event Monday 17 November, 2.00pm
Wilfred Owen, war poet: A life in words and pictures Talk Sunday 25 January 2015, 2.30pm (Ordsall Hall)
Conscientious Objectors Talk Monday 26 January 2015, 2.00pm
Visiting the battlefields of the Great War Talk Wednesday 11 February 2015, 6.00pm
February half term activity Event Saturday 14 to Sunday 22 February 2015 (Except Monday 16 February)
Art and Symbolism in World War One Talk Sunday 1 March 2015, 2.30pm (Ordsall Hall)