World War One talk: Wilfred Owen

Date and time: 
Monday, 10 November 2014 - 2:00pm
Cost: 
Free!
No booking required
Suitable for: 
All

World War One Centenary, Salford RemembersLearn about the life and poems of this famous First World War poet.

Please meet the in the museum reception.

Wilfred Owen was of the most important poets of World War One, and had he lived scholars believe he would have been a major poet of the twentieth century. Born in Oswestry in 1893 he spent his childhood and teenage years in Birkenhead and Shrewsbury.

When war broke out he enlisted, finally joining the Manchester Regiment and won the Military Cross for bravery. He was killed, aged 25, by German machine gun fire trying to cross the Sambre Canal with his regiment on 4 November 1918, a week before the armistice. This talk will look at his life and his most important poems.

This talk is also being repeated at Ordsall Hall on Sunday 25 January 2015, 2.30pm.

Want to know more about World War One?

Look out for our special World War One programme or visit our World War One website.

World War One talks and tours programme

All talks,tours and events are held at Salford Museum and Art Gallery unless otherwise stated.

Title Type Date/Time
The Ballad of Billy Unsworth Talk Monday 1 September, 2.00pm
Salford Art Club: WW1 costume Event Sunday 28 September, 2.00pm
Our Boys Talk Wednesday 1 October, 6.00pm
Salford Art Club: WW1 costume Event Sunday 5 October, 2.00pm
A World War One kitchen Workshop Sunday 19 October, 1.30pm
Creative Sundays Event 2, 9, 16, 23 and 30 November
Tour of World War One exhibition Tour Tuesday 11 November, 11.30am
Art and Symbolism in World War One Talk Wednesday 12 November, 6.00pm
World War One Poetry: Readings and panel discussion Event Monday 17 November, 2.00pm
Wilfred Owen, war poet: A life in words and pictures Talk Sunday 25 January 2015, 2.30pm (Ordsall Hall)
Conscientious Objectors Talk Monday 26 January 2015, 2.00pm
Visiting the battlefields of the Great War Talk Wednesday 11 February 2015, 6.00pm
February half term activity Event Saturday 14 to Sunday 22 February 2015 (except Monday 16 February)
Art and Symbolism in World War One Talk Sunday 1 March 2015, 2.30pm (Ordsall Hall)