Walkden library

Christmas and new year opening hours

This library will be closed on Thursday 25th December, Friday 26th December and Thursday 1st January.

Self service (borrowing/returning books and access to PCs) only will be available on the following days:

Wednesday 24 December   
8.00am - 6.30pm

Saturday 27 December      
9.00am - 1.00pm

Monday 29 December  
8.00am - 10.00pm

Tuesday 30 December  
8.00am - 10.00pm

Wednesday 31 December 
8.00am - 6.30pm
 

Find us

Address 
Walkden Gateway
2 Smith Street
Worsley
M28 3EZ
United Kingdom
Telephone: 
0161 909 6518

Opening times

Monday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Sunday: Closed

Unless otherwise stated, this facility is closed on bank holidays.

Access

  • Accessible to wheelchair users
  • Disabled toilet facilities

Parking

  • Free Car park behind the building
  • Cycle storage

Facilities

  • Library and Gateway Centre
  • Children's library - first floor
  • Room hire
  • Baby changing facilities
  • Public toilets

Children's library opening hours:

8.30am - 7.00pm Monday - Friday
Saturday 9.00am - 1.00pm

What's on offer

  • Audio fiction/talking books
  • Books for adults
  • Books for 0-16 year olds
  • Free use of computers and internet access
  • Holiday activities for children
  • Language CDs
  • Noticeboard
  • Print, fax, scan and photocopy services
  • Reading group
  • Self-service machine
  • Story-rhymetime for under 5s

What's on

2:00 pm Tuesday 23rd December 2014
Walkden library
£1 per child

Festive fun at Walkden library

9:30 am Tuesday 6th January 2015
Walkden library
Free. Refreshments 20p

Stories, rhymes, crafts and play

9:30 am Tuesday 13th January 2015
Walkden library
Free. Refreshments 20p

Stories, rhymes, crafts and play

9:30 am Tuesday 20th January 2015
Walkden library
Free. Refreshments 20p

Stories, rhymes, crafts and play